Alumni Announcements

Erin Fralicks Hart becomes youngest ever president of Texas Recreation and Park Society

Sworn in on Wednesday, March 10 at the Texas Recreation and Park Society’s State Conference in Frisco, Texas, Erin Fralicks Hart has set a new state record as the youngest president in the history of the organization at age 33. TRAPS is an 81-year-old non-profit educational and professional organization that serves as a clearinghouse of information and resources to help with a wide range of challenges facing park, recreation, and leisure service professionals. Erin, who is also a Certified Parks and Recreation Professional, was recently promoted to Assistant Director of Operations at The City of Grand Prairie Parks, Arts & Recreation Department – a two-time National Recreation & Park Association Gold-Medal-winning and nationally accredited agency. After graduating from UNT in 2010, Erin immediately began her career as a Recreation Coordinator at The City of Flower Mound. In 2013 she accepted the Special Events Coordinator position at The City of Grand Prairie. From there, she was promoted to Recreation Superintendent in 2019, and then to Assistant Director in 2021. “We look forward to Erin serving in this capacity and know that she will not only do exceptional work for our state, but also brings great honor to the City of Grand Prairie,” said Duane Strawn, Director of Parks, Arts & Recreation. Erin is the daughter of Kevin (B.S. 87’) and Lucie Fralicks and Jeanne (B.S. 83, M.S. 85) and Bryan Heard. Erin is the daughter-in-law of longtime Euless and Grand Prairie City Manager, Tom (B.S 77’) and Susan Hart. Erin is married to Austen Hart, and they have two children, Ellie (age 14) and Ryley (age 2). 

Kimberly Lowry receives Award for Outstanding Performance as a Dean

Dr. Kimberly Lowry ('14), Vice President of Instruction and Student Services at Lone Star College System, received a 2020-21 NASPA Scott Goodnight Award for Outstanding Performance as a Dean.

Shon Joseph named Outstanding Principal of the Year by the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals

DeSoto High School Principal Shon Joseph will  represent the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals as a Region 10 Outstanding Principal of the Year.

Michael Goddard earns praise as leading CEO at a Top 100 Places to Work

Dr. Michael Goddard (04), superintendent of the Lovejoy Independent School District, earned top marks from his employees even during a pandemic earning him the title of a leading COE at one of the Top 100 Places to Work, according to The Dallas Morning News. 

Azucena "Suzie" Verdin earns the John L. and Harriet P. McAdoo Dissertation Award

Dr. Azucena "Suzie" Verdin, a 2019 Educational Psychology graduate in Human Development and Family Science, is the 2020 recipient of the John L. and Harriet P. McAdoo Dissertation Award through the Racial and Ethnic Diversity in Families section of the National Council on Family Relations. The McAdoo is one of NCFR’s most prestigious awards for doctoral students and is given to one dissertation biannually that use familial relationships as the primary focus, highlights the central role ethnicity and culture play in family processes, and relates to the scholarly work of Drs. John L. and Harriette P. McAdoo, founders of the REDF section. Dr. Verdin will be presented with her plaque and cash prize at the 2020 NCFR conference on Nov. 13 and at the 2021 conference she will give a conference address on her dissertation: “Mothering While Brown: Latina Borderland Mothers’ Experiences of Epistemic Injustice.”

Alexis Miller named Regions XI Teacher of the Year

Alexis Miller, a teacher in the Lewisville Independent School District, earned a Master of Education in Educational Leadership in 2020. Miller was named Region XI Teacher of the Year. She went on to become on of the Top 3 Finalist for the Elementary Texas Teacher of the Year. She was not selected as the winner, but this journey was an opportunity for Alexis to represent her school community and serve as an advocate for education.

UNT Alum tapped as an assistant dean at Texas A&M University-Commerce

Dr. Juan Araujo (’11) was named as Assistant Dean in the College of Education and Human Services at Texas A&M University-Commerce, where he will oversee the departments of curriculum and Instruction, educational leadership, and higher education. Araujo earned a Ph.D. in reading from the University of North Texas through the College of Education Department of Teach Education and Administration.

Cassie Lloyd to direct Rio Vista ISD Early Literacy Center

Cassie Lloyd (’20) will be directing the Rio Vista Independent School District Early Literacy Center for the school year 2020-21. Lloyd earned her bachelor’s degree at the University of North Texas specializing in Applied Arts- Applied Technology and Performance Improvement. She is currently completing a master’s degree in Educational Leadership - Principal as Instructional Leader at the University of North Texas.

Rebecca Serrano named assistant principal fo Bryan Adams High School

Rebecca Serrano was recently named as an assistant principal fo Bryan Adams High School in Dallas ISD. Serrano is a first-generation high school and college graduate. She earned a bachelor’s in English literature and a Master of Education in Educational Leadership from the University of North Texas.

Devin Adams named Dean of Instruction at Houston middle school

Devin Adams ('19) has been named Dean of Instruction at Fleming Middle School in the Houston ISD.